bravestredhead

April Update

In Uncategorized on April 7, 2009 at 3:18 am

We were up again to Owen Sound & stopped near Chatsworth at a roadside maple syrup stand to buy some of that sugary goodness direct from the Mennonites themselves.  I got to say hello to their horses who were patiently waiting at the front of their buggy. Working horses. Far out.

menonitehorses

We walked out to a set of cliffs out back of the Parker house to view Owen Sound harbour.  Quite remarkable.  (We kept Henry on a short leash owing to his penchant for adventure and the steep drop!) It was a lovely spring walk  on the Bruce trail. To think of the mischief my young husband must have gotten up to in those woods…  This was followed by a warm fire in the fireplace (without my lungs fearing smoke!), roast beef and much jamming (we’ve been practicing our piano/fiddle duets East Coast Canada style.)

cautionbuggies

Back in Toronto, I took the new breathers for a test run behind the microphone, very much on a whim. I was heard to be singing in public not once but TWICE last month. I stopped by Gate 403 to hear a friend’s band and wound up accepting a gracious offer to sit in.  My goodness it’s nice not to have to plan my verses around coughs and phlegm, BUT  I must work on projecting! You’d think with so much more air capacity I’d be louder, when in fact I’ve lost all those fabulous coughing (and singing!) muscles, so this must be remedied in order that I can project and be heard better. With this in mind I sat in again, this time at the Rex Hotel.

I was delighted again in my lung function today, another high of 2.53 litres! I had suffered a mild head cold last week and was petrified at first when I came down with it: scared of having my first cold with no immune system to speak of.   Thankfully it was mild, and seems to have limited itself to just my head, touch wood. Plans are to join a weekly jumping lesson on Gypsy, so I’d better be better!

Speaking of Gypsy, I found  her just so SLOW in March. So slow in fact that I did myself injury from squeezing so perpetually hard in the saddle that I’d have quite intense attacks  of sciatica. I lost a lot of core strength through the surgery/lay up process which I believe to be a contributing factor to these flareups. Well, so we adjusted pony’s feed, and I had the vet come up to do some blood work on her since she’d been a bit “lack luster”.  Long story short? She galloped around her paddock & I wasn’t even sure I’d be able to catch her for the Doc! Watching her tear muddy, snorting, loops around us the vet quipped, “well, she LOOKS healthy!”  I present you with a photo of “Geriatric” Gypsy (The vet’s word, not mine!);

gypsy-runs

You Can't Catch Me!

Hmmm… Since I’m now about 51 kilos and quickly outgrowing my “skinny jeans” I realized that I’ve made food a bit of hobby lately.  I’ve dabbled in Italian, Vietnamese, Korean, Upscale Bistro,  Indian, Lamb and Elk burgers, BBQ steak in our backyard, and my first Swiss Melt sandwich ever at a late night diner! I still have a little ways to go before I fill out my riding chaps like before: I’ll know to stop when I can’t bend my legs anymore to mount up!  But seriously, it’s very bizarre and refreshing to look in the mirror and have some mass again: to begin to fit my old clothes once more. On a few occasions people have failed to recognize me.  When I think back to how thin my illness had made me last fall and how I worried my audience would think me anorexic… well, this is a welcome health change.

Gigs loom ahead for our little country band leading up to a record launch for us on May 2nd… TRIAL BY FIRE! (I am having some confidence and practical problems with my singing mostly due to a few drug induced side effects which hopefully will lessen as doses are tailored). The best side effect by far though, is being able to breath again: I never let a day go by without thanking my lucky stars!

pangmanparker

Leave a Reply

