bravestredhead

May Day!

In Uncategorized on May 1, 2009 at 11:52 pm

lungmart

May day! May day! It’s the first of May, and we need you to consider becoming an organ donor!  RECYCLE!  Talk to your family and let them know your wishes. If you’ve read my blog you’ll know how it can change lives. These ads for Lung Mart are popping up around Toronto lately: “if organs and tissue were this easy to find, we wouldn’t need donors.” Pretty freaky ads, but they provoke discussion, which is what we need! I encourage you all to visit their interactive web page at RecycleMe.org.

I’ll be out in the media soon too. Wow. I’ll actually be COMING OUT about my health! To do this has *always* scared me and I managed to keep my health a pretty good trade secret for over a decade. Frankly I wanted people to associate my name with  SINGING and not with an illness.   I never found spreading the idea of a jazz singer coughing up blood between tunes was very romantic (not like the blind man playing the blues).  But now is not the time for Secrets. Now is the time to spread the word. Mid-performance  I told a room-full of folks at Hugh’s room about my transplant. It was a packed house. How could I, in good conscience, NOT tell 125 captive audience members the miracle of transplant? Of course I drove the message home with a big loud song.  A *lot* of people came up after the show to express their amazement and willingness to become donors. Rewarding to say the least. A feel my calling coming on!

At the stable I’m getting my stamina up and have started jumping pretty much full courses of jumps in preparation for showing this summer.  To further press the matter I bought an especial *show* helmet!  On a whim I even took up the offer to ride a large Thoroughbred who was wearing just a halter for steering. The next day I tried the sensational running walk & canter of a Tennessee Walker (from bareback) to broaden my equine palette. I love it!

samo2

Oh, La LA! I’ve been very BUSY with the television show of late, and also gigging. Lickin’ Good Fried release our 45 rpm record THIS SATURDAY NIGHT @ the Dakota Tavern in Toronto.  8pm show,  then we go again from 10pm – 1am. I’m VERY excited!!! We just picked up the vinyl tonight…. (and don’t worry, for those of you with no turntable, we will provide you with an MP3 for your purchase! For $5 you get the 45 PLUS two MP3 digital downloads of the singles.)  Performing has rarely been this fun to me as lately. I am *loving* what I do again without the bad lungs to overcome. I am *loving* this band. I am *loving* being there in the moment and pray it goes on and on.

Health wise, my CMV level is still a bit higher than they’d like despite about ten days pill  treatment. I go in soon to see if  I will need i.v. therapy to curb it.  (Guess that’s why they encouraged me to hold onto the iv access in my arm.) Hopefully it remedies itself before coming to that. I pray! IVs are something I have enjoyed being without.

Finally, check out the current Hot Docs festival for a film called 65 Red Roses about one  Cystic woman’s journey to lung transplant. It was on the cover of this week’s NOW magazine and got critics pick.  The article can also be found on-line.

Leave a Reply

