bravestredhead

Of Birthdays and Anniversaries

In Uncategorized on September 18, 2009 at 4:10 pm
8520_168110700864_574010864_3912831_3987089_n

Heaven on earth? Very possibly. (CNE goodness)

Thanks to my donor, last week I turned 33! Who knows if I would have made it this far without him/her. In celebration I hopped on my bike and easily rode to the CNE and enjoyed a day of fun. Any time I sang at the CNE with my band I never really had the proper footwear on to enjoy the fair. But this year I went especially because  I wanted to ride the Flume (and get splashed!) and I wanted funnel cake. I got all my wishes, self propelled by my own two strong legs and lungs. (And it never hurts when on your birthday the “Guess Your Age” guy thinks you are several years younger than in reality!!!)  Oh yes, we walked around, we rode rides, played games, saw Superdogs, ate, watched the noisy air show… The best bang for your buck was the Footsie Wootsie foot massage machine. Twenty five cents bought a minute of foot tingling blood circulating goodness.   And at the end of it all we rode our bikes home, up hill.

Picture 3

An Anniversary party to remember: carrot cake, live music, friends!

If that weren’t enough goodness, this past weekend marked a very special anniversary: TWENTY YEARS with my mare, Gypsy!  To celebrate in style we had a big barn party with cake (carrot, of course!), live country music c/o Colonel Tom and Co., a bbq, bonfire and piñata (oh my gosh, it was fun to spin the kids around and watch them descend like raptors on the “candy! candy!”)  Gypsy came to the party of course, and we all had a rip snorting good time in celebration. She truly is a best friend. On her back I’ve grown from a kid to a woman. It was through horses that I found music, and through music I found my husband.  I’ve seen and done a lot with Gypsy, from competing, riding the woods, to swimming… I love her immensely. She is quite possibly the great love of my life.  The love a horse gives you is so stupendous, so quiet, so special. She was my patient “therapy pony” for those years, don’t forget. On her back I felt able bodied again until such time as I became able bodied again! GO GYPSY!!!! To think I received some twenty years ago the gift of a pony. Two decades later, the gift of life. Pretty blessed, huh? I pray it lasts. I try and live every day to it’s fullest. I really do.

Gypsy at her party, enjoying the band!

Gypsy at her party, enjoying the band!

Because… My CMV is being a bit tricky, sometimes showing one positive cell.  We’d like it to stay at zero (that’s what it is this week). If it goes positive again this MAY mean more Foscarnate hospitalization. I am in denial about that, but we’re watching it and trying something with immunoglobulins in the meantime?! Greek to me. But on the up side I had my (belated) 9 month Assessment this week. My fitness test has improved again! My lung function is “awesome” (and I’m quoting the Doctor on that one), and she said that if there weren’t the wires on my xray giving away my surgery she’d have assumed that it was the xray of a “totally healthy person”!  My CT scan is looking better as far as the stuff I have been fighting.  Bronchoscopy this week will conclusively tell what’s still growing in my lungs & assess if there is any rejection. Today’s bronch seemed to go smoothly and hopefully will show improvement and nothing new or scary. Pray for that! (As I’m always sending prayers out for my cohorts in the transplant program I often wonder how The Man Above deals with all these requests!!!)

10429_269686655267_733335267_8542946_2970517_n

With Jaymz post sail.

In the meantime, Tom’s back at the grind teaching but we’ve been stealing great rides together still, and swims. This weekend he had three swims and we marveled at how my bikini hid my incision mark almost totally. You really wouldn’t notice, I don’t think! Oh, and speaking of water babies, while he was off working hard last week I got to helm a sailboat in Toronto harbour with Captain Barbour (that rhymes!). Co-captain and groovy friend Jaymz Bee (from Jazz.fm) had that very morning put a copy of my disc “Live In Montreal” into the hands of  famed Harry Connick Junior. Once I calmed down, we had a very relaxing sail around the Toronto Islands.

And….This is just a healthy reminder to spread the word about becoming an organ donor. Tell your friends about the miracles it affords. Sign onto the donor registry yourself, and talk to your family about your wishes to become an organ donor.   Register your consent by clicking here! One donor can save up to 8 lives!!!

Leave a Reply

