bravestredhead

How Could I Forget?

In Uncategorized on September 24, 2009 at 5:12 pm

Picture 1

On November 4th, 2008, I had made plans to go for a ride with my friend Jo-Ann (the very nice woman who was to look after Gypsy while I was recovering). We were going to go on a “hack”. For all of you non-horsey people out there, a “hack” is where you go riding off into the country, and pleasure ride around hay fields and through the woods. Well, clearly ten months later we finally got our hack in together. Yes! This past Saturday as we got back from a lovely late summer’s afternoon ride I said, “JoAnn! Do you realize we finally got our hack?!” We both smiled and laughed realizing how long it had been since we’d made those plans. I recall phoning her the morning of the surgery to cancel our ride in lieu of the day’s lung transplant. It was an odd phone call to make, “Hi, uh, change of plans: I can’t come riding today because I’m going to have life saving surgery today!” But thanks to that call and my donor, so many special rides and special experiences have been able to happen.

This autumn, to mark the one-year anniversary of the transplant, Lickin’ Good Fried will be releasing our full-length album. What better way to honour my donor’s special gift than by using the lungs to sing? We couldn’t book the venue we wanted quite on the date, so November 3rd 2009 at Toronto’s Lula Lounge will be the big release party. At midnight it will officially be the one-year anniversary (November 4th) of the surgery. So! I urge you to mark the date down on your calendar and come out! It’ll be a great night of music: My jazz band, The Alleycats, will be opening for the main show featuring “Lickin’ Good Fried” which I’m likewise proud to be a part of. It’ll be a night full of singing! Be there if you can!!!

Leave a Reply

