bravestredhead

Dakota Residency

In Uncategorized on January 5, 2010 at 12:53 am

Hi Gang!

Our band Lickin’ Good Fried are playing EVERY SUNDAY in JANUARY  at Toronto’s DAKOTA TAVERN from 7-9pm..  I am so keen about this series! Moreover, if we do well there is the opportunity to potentially stretch this series into the spring, but we’ll need your support, dear readers, to pull it off! So come on by, tell a friend or bring one!  The first night was amazing, despite a snow storm and chilly temperatures.

Tom and Henry on a Christmas walk on the trail

Over holidays, we had some lovely walks on the Bruce trail with our dog Henry, even though the growth on his foot continues to expand. He still loves to sniff around those woods I tell you, & when the turkey comes out he’s more lively than a barrel of monkeys!  In any event it was sad not to get the horse for Christmas but wonderful to have Henry around.

Mother Parker from the Great Owen Sound Parker family crokinole tournament!

I STILL cannot taste or smell anything after my December sniffles. Oh, but Christmas dinner LOOKED so lovely!!!   Illness is all around and so I wore my super duper germ mask to avoid my sister’s head cold. (Call me bubble girl if you like, just call me!) On one hand you don’t get a transplant to live a solitary life or one in fear of every sneeze. BUT  on the other I’ve known folks who caught a cold which kicked off organ rejection. It’s a real balancing act, and while I feel my fears are valid I exist amidst my own contradictions. (I wear my mask at the hospital and riding, but it’s impossible to sing in a mask!)  I just don’t want anything to happen to my lungs. I don’t ever want to return to needing an oxygen tank.  I’ve seen that happen to people.

Avoiding a Christmas Cold!

On the positive side, Tom enjoyed a two week vacation free of hospital admission for me! (You’ll recall I sabotaged both his Xmas and Summer vacations last year!) On the positive side, Dad is in much better shape: which is perhaps one of the best gifts of all! Which reminds me, my donor family, whoever and wherever you are, thanks again for giving me this chance in life to ride a horse bareback through the frozen snowy woods as I did today. For this chance to enjoy the holidays again without fear of the wind making my lungs explode. For this chance to suffer a sports injury! THANK YOU. Honestly, thank you.

John-boy doing what he does best on the holidays!

2010 is off with to a hell of a start: I’m going in for a bronchoscopy on Wednesday. You’ll remember that they didn’t get good/detailed enough samples back in December to tell if there was any rejection. Now with my recent sniffles my lung function has fallen some more and they want to rule things out.  Pray for us SO HARD that it’s not rejection.

Leave a Reply

