bravestredhead

NOTDAW EVENTS!

In Uncategorized on April 24, 2010 at 4:27 am

NOTDAW & Dundas Square

Hi Gang!

The Living Green Ribbon event at Dundas Square was amazing fun: great to see donor families, and living donors as well as recipients of all sorts of organs (and did I mention they looked FABULOUS?!)  We all wore green rain slickers and formed a massive “living green ribbon!”  The Alleycats and I provided the music for the event, and at one point I looked out and saw the mayor of Toronto dancing to us! Only, he was dancing with a giant HEART! Check it out;

Cardiac Carl and Mayor Miller dance to the Alleycats!

Anyhow Dundas square is a real trip. It’s trying to be Tokyo, or Time Square. There are flashing movie screens, digital boards and neon signs everywhere and there’s a wicked echo as you play music in the square. A really great event I must say, and I’m so pleased to see Ontarians coming out in droves to support the need for organ and tissue donors.

City slickers: Alex and pal Dan wear rain slickers for the "living green ribbon" display!

All this week I’ve been in the studio mixing and editing the next new jazz project I have on the go.  If you’re interested you can catch and of these new songs –the first jazz to be recorded post tx by me– on CBC’s Fresh Air, Saturday April 24th at 8:30am (It will likely be podcast on the radio1 website later).  It’s my final NOTDAW awareness press event for 2010.  Anyhow the recording project is sounding exciting, and so I’m trying to get it completed ASAP for a 2010 release! It’ll have a few surprises on it for real!

Today was my “horse day”: I spent most of the afternoon buying “big things” to fit Tom’s new “big horse” at the “big saddlery sale” in Mississauga.  Then I took them up to a very excited Beaumont who then modeled them for Tom. Gypsy and I had a special ride out in the woods where she got up to a rollicking gallop!  Sweetness at the bottom of the pie, as they say. Thank you anonymous donor!

Well, it’s off to bed for me now — the sunrise comes early when you’ve gotta do live radio at 8:30…. thank god nobody will see my in my pajamas on the radio.

Nighty night!

A.

Leave a Reply

