bravestredhead

Summery Times!

In Uncategorized on June 18, 2010 at 4:44 pm

Gypsy all braided for the Show!

s’been a while so I thought I’d update.

A question I get asked a lot is, “how are the lungs holding up?”  I think people want my answer to be “great! perfect”, but frankly my lung function did take a bit of a hit since all my various complications last year. But hopefully that is all behind me & no more loss.  But that’s too long of an answer, so I usually say, “well, I can sing and dance and enter horse shows!” which makes them happy.

Speaking of which, I took Gypsy  to another horse show, this time a very different sort: a dressage show.  You ride a pattern (no jumps) and are marked on how well you execute the moves.  We took home two yellow ribbons (fourth spot) and I was very proud of her, especially since during our second test the humidity was nearly 100% and she had a cough in the ring. Something as delicate as dressage is nothing I’ve worked on in years, but since it requires great horse/rider communication we were able to pull it off — through her job as my pre-surgery therapy pony we really honed our communication skills.  Also, I drove the truck like a champion.  I think I impressed Tom, and have truly earned the last-name “Parker” at last!

Very excited to be playing the Toronto Jazz Festival. This is our first time in years!!! We shall be playing Nathan Phillips Square on Friday June 25th at 5pm.  Luckily the gig is outside the much discussed G20 security zone and so “the show goes on”…. I am being interviewed by Global that day & Jazz.fm will be recording the concert for later broadcast (in the fall…) so stay tuned. Owing to traffic concerns, I will be walking to the gig, something I’ve rarely done. But can. Awesome.

Last but not least, Tom designed a t-shirt for me and I liked it so much we are making a bunch up for my transplant buddies. If any of you would like  a t-shirt, write in a comment, okay? We can make/mail them within Canada for $8!  Be a walking billboard for transplant!!!! Here is my good friend, and very brave lady, “Amy” wearing hers (Amy has had TWO double lung transplants!!!!) Amy is wearing green, but we can do them in any colour!

Leave a Reply

