bravestredhead

Miracles Happen!

In Uncategorized on July 6, 2010 at 9:17 pm

Yesterday I stopped by the day unit to get some blood drawn, and get my lung function updated.  It was just a touch higher than it has been in a couple of months… perhaps my trumpet playing is helping? (As of yet I can only play the first three notes of row-row-row your boat, but tom is already a bebop player….)

Anyhow, I digress. While I was on the 7th floor (which doubles as the transplant day-unit, but also the holding pen for transplant patients while they await surgery) I walked into the hallway to see none other than a fellow CFer on a stretcher about to be  wheeled to surgery for her transplant!   There she was looking so hopeful and excited, smiling bravely and waving hello. Oh. My. Gosh. It gave me goosebumps. I wished her luck & said some clumsy words of encouragement. I was worried I’d said something goofy, but I found out that her family took it as a good sign to see somebody like me standing there looking so healthy… as a sign of the future perhaps?! Seeing them all there at her bedside brought back a flood of memories and feelings to me.

Accidentally walking into this wonderfully exciting super charged moment reminded me all over again that MIRACLES DO HAPPEN and that lives can be changed for the positive out of tragedy.  Please PLEASE spread the word about organ donation and sign your consent if you haven’t already.

Leave a Reply

