bravestredhead

Sunday Times

In Uncategorized on January 23, 2011 at 4:49 pm

I write to you all alone  up here in the snowy north. My Tom has gone to New Orleans.  Part of it is to have fun, & the other part is to suss out the French Quarter for ‘funkiness’…. Though it has always been a bit smelly in the quarter, I am worried about molds post Katrina, so Tom is down to investigate….. maybe one day I can go back to the birthplace of jazz! (But molds do love to make the immuno supressed sick…)  I’m hoping he gets some good inspiration and maybe writes a song while he’s there!

I took full advantage of my “alone” time and really enjoyed all our animals and seeing friends…. plus I treated myself to a performance of The Happy Pals, who’ve been playing a very authentic brand of New Orleans style jazz on Saturday afternoons since 1968! Walking out of a snow storm into their show is like — honestly– teleporting into a bar in New Orleans. Always cheerful to the max, musical, a real party.  So there, I got some NOLA action up here in the frozen North (even got to sit in and sing). Then I rolled along to a swing dance and heard a great band (more sitting in…) and had a few dances. DANCES! How awesome?!?!  Following that, Sunday brunch to hear a real Cuban band.

Folks, I’d been hearing about an Opera singer who had a double lung transplant due to heart disease.  I’d like to share the link to an address she gave for TED med. Just so neat to know I’m not the only one who asked the surgeons to spare her voice. I still laugh at how ridiculous a thing that was to ask them at the point when they were about to save my life, but as a singer voice and breath really define us. Anyhow,  stay warm and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

