bravestredhead

…and then the phone rang

In Uncategorized on April 4, 2011 at 5:05 am

Tom whispers sweet nothings to Beaumont after his scare this week.

…once the phone rang and it was a voice telling me that they’d found lungs for me.

And when the phone rings and it’s Jennifer from the farm, I get scared. It just so happened that the phone rang on Monday night.  Beaumont was sick again. Rushing to the side of a giant horse with his gut impacted in fits of spasmodic pain, nearly buckling over, gave all involved a great scare. It was a late night scramble but a trailer was found for him and he was admitted to the Milton hospital for IV fluids to help pass the impaction. SAME colic as on May 24 with twisted gut. Luckily he pulled through with the fluid push as  the surgery is VERY risky.  We are feeling so lucky and all very mortal.

Between hand walking  Beaumont for his ongoing lameness issue and handwalking Gypsy for her tendon injury I’m getting a lot of walking in!  Gratefully, friends have been very kindly letting me ride their horses to keep me fit: I jokingly say that I’m “dating” other horses, but honestly, to Gypsy I am in my heart true: she is my ideal equine companion.

During our walk today.

…And the rest of the time I spend getting ready for the album launch on April 12th.  I got word that we were played on CBC last weekend between Nora Jones and Willie Nelson!  The French Canadian jazz station Planète Jazz called our record the “discovery of the week!”

If you live in the Greater Toronto Area you can hear us on April 11th at apx 2pm live on AM 740 performing live music with an interview.   But mostly I hope you’ll all consider picking up a copy in person on the 12th @ Hughs Room, or taking the record home from itunes or stores!

You can hear samples of the new disc here, and please LIKE us on facebook:

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Alex-Pangman/184858404892229?sk=app_178091127385

Leave a Reply

