bravestredhead

Catching up!

In Uncategorized on May 18, 2012 at 3:03 am

Tonight at the farm I felt so happy. My wonderful pony and I rode around on the green grass, the both of us all smiles. It felt like perfection jogging around by the pond, up the slopes, through the woods, & smelling (yes! smelling!) the blossoms.

I think for Gypsy this is how she is meant to be: with her master in the woods, relaxed, happy, and enjoying the 20 degree sun and breathing in clearly the perfectly smog free air.  The pony got loved, ridden, grazed (she’s moving into the big paddock again after so long in her round pen.), and Tom gave her a good scrub, which she loves.  (I can’t really groom her extensively myself anymore at the request of the Docs.)

This is just what life is ABOUT for that mare. And for me. The both of us were totally fulfilled. Like, MAN, this is our “raison d’etre!”

This all comes after a trip to the vet hospital last week to have a cardiac ultra sound. Since 2007 we’ve known Gypsy had a slight heart murmur, and this was a follow up.  It was an adventure for her to go on a trailer to Guelph and she did it like a pro, God love her. Everyone at the hospital kept saying how great she looked for her age, and I heard the one Doctor say, “this pony has been *very* well looked after!” (Insert proud smile here).  She got a little impatient with all the poking in the ribs they did to try and get a good ultra sound view,  but the upshot is that her mild murmur “shouldn’t effect her quality of life”. Isn’t that amazing? I nearly cried with joy to think our time in the saddle together had weathered yet another possible ending!   They also closely looked into her eyes to diagnose her cataracts (given that her spook led to my broken hand). While the Doc verified they are present, alas nothing can be done. And nothing for the heart.  So… we live for today. And what a wonderful “today” it was!

I visited the print shop to see Steve Dunk put the LP jackets through the press!

In other news,  I’ve been busy getting together the LP version of my album 33. Today, the vinyl arrived to my house! We’ll spend the weekend stuffing the custom made letter-press sleeves with my very own vinyl discs!  Look for further notices regarding release date!

In yet more “other news” I’ve been working away at my FACTOR funding final contract for our Quebec journey back in February. Lots of hoops to jump through but the end result is that without FACTOR and similar such organizations, I’d be hard done by to take the band anywhere! Gotta love that they helped out!

And on that tact, people often ask me, “so, are you busy with singing?”  My response is usually, “Well, I might not sing that many shows in a month, but rest assured I put in a zillion hours a week on all the “behind the scenes” stuff. Grant applications, making recordings, submitting to SOCAN, contracts, listening to music to source for the band, planning, budgeting, bringing in new songs, charting, networking.” So that’s my answer: I keep busy! And to unwind? A wonderful ride through the woods!!!

In health news: It’s been three weeks off of i.v. antibiotics.  I’m feeling fairly good, and the new inhaled seems to be going all right though I detect a few crackles returning. I sure have enjoyed not having to carry the iv bag everywhere with me. We shall see how the lung function holds up with the new regime! On the plus side I have gained some weight after my terrible flu.

Ciao for now!

 

 

Leave a Reply

